An Astronomer's Guide to the Universe

Astronomy is a science that goes beyond cultures. I have travelled to several places around the world to present my science, to develop new ideas together with other scientists. When you discuss your study you are interested in suggestions, explanations, exchange of knowledge, and not in the particular nature of your partner. The strength of scientific connections is invaluable.

Maria-Rosa Cioni, Scientist at the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) and guest professor at the University of Potsdam

One research institute - 31 nations

Astronomy is (and always has been) a highly international discipline that unites different countries and cultures. Astronomical research and large projects are characterized by their multinational nature — as are many individual career paths: born in Italy, AIP researcher Maria-Rosa Cioni for instance, has worked in the Nether­lands, Great Britain, and at the head­quarters of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Munich, with frequent observing trips to Chile before leading her own research group at AIP.

The scientific staff of the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP) includes 130 people from more than 30 different countries all over the world. English is the standard work language and intercultural encounters are part of the daily routine. 

The E-ELT:

  • 39.3 m mirror

  • Light collecting area: 978 square metres

  • Planned site: Cerro Armazones, at 3060 m elevation in the Atacama desert in Chile

How do you build the world´s largest telescope?

It would be impossible to plan and build today´s large astronomical ob­ser­va­tories without counting on the inter­national network that is so typical for astronomy. And in astronomy, bigger is often indeed better. Increasingly large mirrors produce increasingly sharper and deeper images of cosmic objects. International collaborations invest many years or even decades to develop specialized instrumentation for telescopes on Earth and in space.

For observations of the Southern sky from Earth, European astronomers are organized within the European Southern Observatory. ESO operates the Very Large Telescope (VLT) and the VISTA survey in Chile — and is already aiming for the next level in size — the European Extremely Large Telescope (E-ELT). AIP has already contributed with VLT instrumentation, and is also leading a second-generation instru­ment project for VISTA, as well as participating in two design studies for the E-ELT.

...and who is allowed to use it for observations?

Once a telescope is up and running, in principle anyone may ask to use it — if he or she has a good idea and good arguments for it. All proposals for observations are reviewed, discussed and ranked by experienced scientists in an international competition. Often the requests add up to several times the available time — the competition is fierce. Some time is reserved for pro­jects and science cases that astro­nomers have found to be of extra­ordinary relevance. AIP researcher Maria-Rosa Cioni knows these proce­dures very well. She has been making observations with ESO tele­scopes since 1997, is currently leading a major survey project herself, and has been the German representative on the ESO Users Committee since 2015.

If your proposal is successful, the telescope will be pointed at your chosen object during a certain timeslot. Some­times that means you yourself will be at the telescope for data taking but often you will receive data that has been taken automatically or by others. Observing runs are also a great chance for graduate students to get to use a telescope. For PhD students who want to work during large parts of their projects at ESO, either in Munich or in Chile, ESO offers "studentships". ESO students have a formal supervisor at their home university, which may be Potsdam, and are co-supervised by a local ESO staff astronomer.

 

Big Data and collaborative research

Writing successful proposals also means receiving and handling a huge amount of data — especially if you are interested in large sky surveys as Maria-Rosa Cioni is. For her work involving data from the VISTA telescope in Chile, she received one of the renowned ERC Consolidator Grants by the European Union, which allows her to establish her own research group at AIP. Science goals are to study inter­actions of galaxies and to develop a precise model for the geometry, motion and formation history of stars in the Magellanic Clouds. She and her team will look at observational data both from VISTA and from the Gaia space mission.

An Astronomer's Guide to the Universe

Astronomie ist eine Wissenschaft, die Kulturen überspannt. Ich bin an viele Orte der Welt gereist, um meine Wissen­schaft zu präsen­tieren und um neue Ideen gemeinsam mit anderen Forschen­den zu entwickeln. Wenn ich meine Forschung diskutiere, bin ich an Ideen, Erklärungen und dem Austausch von Wissen interessiert, völlig unabhängig vom Hinter­grund meines Gesprächs­partners. Wissen­schaft­liche Verbindungen sind von unschätzbarem Wert!

Maria-Rosa Cioni, Wissenschaftlerin am Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) und Gastprofessorin an der Universität Potsdam

Ein Forschungsinstitut – 31 Nationen

Astronomie ist und war seit jeher eine internationale, Länder- und Kultur­grenzen über­schreitende Wissen­schaft. Astro­nomische Forschung und Projekte zeichnen sich durch ihre Multi­nation­ali­tät aus – ebenso wie die Karriere­wege vieler einzelner Wissen­schaftler. So arbeitete die in Italien gebürtige AIP-Wissen­schaftlerin Maria-Rosa Cioni beispielsweise in den Nieder­landen, in Groß­britannien und am Hauptsitz der Europä­ischen Südstern­warte (ESO) in München, von wo sie regelmäßig Beobachtungs­reisen nach Chile unternahm, bevor sie am AIP ihre eigene Forscher­gruppe aufbaute.

Am Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam (AIP) stammen die etwa 130 Wissen­schaftler aus über 30 verschie­denen Ländern aller Welt. Die Arbeits­sprache ist Englisch und die inter­kulturelle Begegnung gehört zum Arbeit­salltag.

Das E-ELT:

  • 39,3-Meter Spiegel

  • Lichtsammelfläche: 978 Quadratmeter
  • geplanter Standort: Cerro Armazones auf 3060 Metern Höhe in der Atacama-Wüste in Chile

Wie baut man das größte Teleskop der Welt?

Ohne dieses für die Astronomie so typische inter­nationale Netz­werk wären die Planung und der Bau moderner Groß­obser­vatorien unmöglich. „Größer ist besser“ ist ein geflügel­ter Satz in der Astro­nomie – und in der Tat oft wahr. Immer größere Spiegel produ­zieren immer schärfere und tiefere Bilder kos­mischer Objekte. Inter­nationale Teams invest­ieren viele Jahre oder sogar Jahr­zehnte, um speziali­sierte Instru­men­tierung für Tele­skope auf der Erde und im Welt­raum zu entwickeln.

Für die Beobachtung des Süd­himmels von der Erde aus sind die euro­pä­ischen Astronomen innerhalb der Euro­pä­ischen Süd­stern­warte (ESO) organisiert. ESO betreibt das Very Large Telescope (VLT) und die VISTA-Him­mels­durch­must­erung in Chile — und plant bereits die nächste Größen­skala eines Teleskops: das Euro­pean Extremely Large Tele­scope (E-ELT). Das AIP hat bereits zur VLT-Instru­men­tierung bei­getragen und engagiert sich in zwei De­sign-Stu­dien für das E-ELT.

....und wer darf damit beo­bachten?

Ist ein Teleskop einmal gebaut und funktional, kann prinzi­piell jeder einen Beo­bach­tungs­antrag stellen – sofern er oder sie eine gute Idee und auch gute Argu­mente dafür hat. Alle Anträge werden von erfah­renen Wissen­schaftlern in speziellen Aus­schüs­sen geprüft, diskutiert und gerankt. Der Wett­bewerb ist hart: Oft summiert sich die beantragte Zeit zu einem Viel­fachen der verfüg­baren Zeit auf. Einige Zeit ist für Projekte und wissen­schaft­liche Vorhaben reserviert, welche die Astronomen bereits im Vorfeld als besonders relevant eingestuft haben. AIP-Forscherin Maria-Rosa Cioni ist mit dem Prozedere bestens vertraut. Seit 1997 beobachtet sie selbst mit ESO-Teleskopen, leitet eine zentrale ESO-Gruppe und vertritt Deutschland seit 2015 im ESO Users Committee.

Ist ein Beobachtungs­antrag erfolgreich, wo wird das Teleskop für eine bestimmte Zeit auf das gewün­schte Objekt ausgerichtet. Manchmal heißt das für den Beo­bachter oder die Beo­bachterin, dass er oder sie selbst am Teleskop ist. Oft erhält man aber auch nur die Daten, die auto­matisiert oder durch andere auf­genommen wurden. Beobachtungs­kampagnen bieten auch eine tolle Chance für Studierende, die Bedienung eines Teleskops kennen­zulernen. Für Promovierende, die während eines Großteils ihrer Doktorarbeit bei ESO in München oder Chile arbeiten möchten, bietet ESO sogar „studentships“ an. ESO students haben ihren formellen Betreuer an ihrer Heimat­universität, bei­spiels­weise in Potsdam, und werden gleich­zeitig von einem ESO-Astro­nomen vor Ort mitbetreut.

Big Data – und vernetztes Arbeiten

Erfolgreiche Beobachtungs­anträge bedeuten meist auch den Umgang mit riesigen Daten­mengen – insbesondere falls es sich um eine groß­angelegte Himmels­durch­musterung handelt, wie es bei Maria-Rosa Cioni der Fall ist. Für ihre Arbeiten, die auf Daten vom VISTA-Teleskop in Chile basieren, erhielt sie einen der renom­mierten ERC Consoli­dator Grants der Euro­päischen Union, aus dessen Mitteln sie nun ihre eigene Forschungs­gruppe am AIP aufbaut. Ihre wissen­schaft­lichen Ziele sind das Studium der Wechsel­wirkung von Galaxien und die Entwicklung eines präzisen Modells für die Geometrie, Bewegung und Ent­stehungs­geschichte von Sternen in den Magellanschen Wolken zu entwickeln. Sie und ihr Team werden dabei Beo­bachtungs­daten von VISTA und vom Welt­raum­satelliten Gaia auswerten.